ThomasB

Using T2 Lite together with Diversity

Dear EyeTV staff reading this,

I have been using EyeTV Diversity for several years and recently bought an EyeTV T2 Lite as well, in order to be able to record HD programmes on the UK DVB network. I read somewhere in this forum that it should be possible to use both devices at the same time, and that made it really interesting.

And yes, it is possible with the EyeTV 3 software, but in practice only as long as one doesn't book any HD programmes.

The presence of an T2 lite makes the HD channels appear in the schedule and makes them bookable - and the software also recognises that there are now three tuners (two in the Diversity and one in the T2), so it allows the booking of three programmes at the same time.

However, the software isn't smart enough to realise that it shouldn't attempt to use the Diversity stick when recording a HD programme. At the start time for a booked programme the software picks at random any of the three tuners to do the recording, but if it picks a Diversity tuner and it's a HD programme, the tuner doesn't get any signal so it immediately stops recording. Very irritating, as one ends up with "empty" recordings.

After this had happened several times, I realised that I had either to stop booking HD programmes altogether and simply use all three tuners for SD recordings, or disconnect the Diversity stick. I chose to don the latter. However, it means that I have two tuners I can't use - at least not on the same Mac. And being used to the Diversity, I'm now find that having one available tuner is rather frustrating.

So how to solve the problem? The ideal solution would be to make the software smart enough to link HD bookings to the T2 and prioritise Diversity for SD recordings. That would solve the problem, but I realise that this could be rather complicated.

So I have two other ideas: